Voting in 2nd phase municipality elections underway

Published : 16 Jan 2021, 10:38

Sahos Desk

In the second phase of municipal elections, voting is underway in 60 municipalities across the region, despite concerns of violence in many areas.

The poll began at 8:00 am and will run without any break until 4:00 pm.

Elections were scheduled to be conducted in the second phase in 61 municipalities, but polls in the municipality of Syedpur under the district of Nilphamari were put on hold following the death of a mayoral candidate.

On Thursday, ahead of the second phase of municipal elections, two people were killed in violence between supporters of candidates in Jhenaidah.

To avert any untoward incidents, the police administration has taken appropriate security measures. “

A total of 221 mayoral candidates, 745 councillors for reserved seats and 2,320 councillors are battling in the general seats under the municipality polls.

Of them, twenty-eight municipalities are going to polls using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

About 22,40,226 voters are scheduled to cast their votes in 1,080 polling centres.

The municipalities are Swandip in Chattogram, Kazipur, Belkuchi, Ullapara, Sadar and Rayganj in Sirajganj, Mohonganj, Kendua in Netrokona, Kushtia Sadar, Kumarkhali, Bheramara and Mirpur, Kulaura and Komolganj in Maulvibazar, Tarabo in Narayanganj, Shariatpur Sadar, Nageshwari in Kurigram, Sundarganj and Sadar in Gaibandha, Sadar, Birampur and Birganj in Dinajpur, Nozipur in Naogaon, Bhangura, Faridpur, Santhia, Ishwardi and Sujanagar in Pabna, Arani, Bhabaniganj, Kakanhat in Rajshahi, Sunamganj Sadar, Chatak and Jagannathpur in Sunamganj, Madabpur and Nabiganj in Habiganj, Boalmari in Faridpur, Phulbaria and Muktagacha in Mymensingh, Magura Sadar, Savar in Dhaka, Naldanga, Gurudashpur and Gopalpur in Natore, Sherpur, Sariakandhi and Santahar in Bogura, Pirojpur Sadar, Gangni in Meherpur, Sailakupa in Jhenaidah, Khagrachhari Sadar, Lama in Bandarban, Dhanbari in Tangail, Chandina in Cumilla, Dhaganbhuiyan in Feni, Kishoreganj Sadar and Kuliarchar in Kishoreganj, Monohardi in Narsingdi, Basurhat in Noakhali and Mongla in Bagerhat.

The country has a total of 329 municipalities. Polls were taken place in 24 municipalities on December 28 last year in the first phase.

In third phase, polls will be held in 64 municipalities on January 30 while 56 municipalities will go to polls in the fourth phase on February 14.


  • Latest
  • Most viewed