BPL set to kick-off with Rangpur-Chittagong and Dhaka-Rajshahi

Published : 05 Jan 2019, 11:51

Sahos Desk

The six edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is all set to kick-off on Saturday with two games on the same day at the Shere-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

The tournament will start with the defending champions Rangpur Riders taking on the Chittagong Vikings. The match will start at 12:30 PM and it will be interesting to see if Chittagong, who were at the bottom in the previous season can start the tournament will all guns blazing.

Meanwhile, the defending champions are packed with full of stars once again and ready to defend their title. Skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, who already won four BPL titles will lead the side against Mushfiqur Rahim’s Chittagong.

Former South Africa captain AB de Villiers is all set to play in the BPL for the first time. However, he will come after a few games and so as the dynamic Chris Gayle.

However, Alex Hales will be opening for the side and look to give a firing start. While for Chittagong, all eyes will be on Mohammad Ashraful as he is set to feature in the BPL for the first time since his suspension.

Probable XI’s –

Rangpur Riders: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (c), Mohammad Mithun, Nazmul Islam Apu, Shafiul Islam, Shohag Gazi, Nadif Chowdhury, Mehedi Maruf, Alex Hales, Robi Bopara, Rilee Rossouw, Sheldon Cottrell.

Chittagong Vikings: Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Mohammad Ashraful, Abu Jayed Rahi, Mosaddek Hossain, Nayeem Hasan, Sadman Islam, Sunzamul Islam, Luke Ronchi, Sikandar Raza, Cameron Delport, Nazibullah Zadran.

In the other game of the day, Dhaka Dynamites will face Rajshahi Kings. Shakib Al Hasan, who is one of the most successful players in the tournament will lead Dhaka yet again and he will take on a young talented captain Mehidy Hasan Miraz.

Rajshahi announced on Wednesday that Mehidy will lead the side and it’s a huge decision which was appreciated by many. The youngster has vast experience and he also led the Bangladesh U-19 team in the World Cup where his side played in the semi-finals. All eyes will be on him to see if he can cope up with the pressure and lead the side where the International stars will also feature.

The match will start at 5:30 PM at the same venue.

Probable XI’s –

Dhaka Dynamites: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mohammad Naeem, Qazi Onik, Rony Talukder, Rubel Hossain, Shuvagoto Hom, Nurul Hasan, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Andrew Birch.

Rajshahi Kings: Mehidy Hasan (c), Arafat Sunny, Fazle Mahmud Rabbi, Mominul Haque, Mustafizur Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Jakir Hasan, Kayes Ahmed, Ryan Ten Doeschate, Seekkuge Prasanna, Mohammad Hafeez.

Source: bdcrictime

  • Latest
  • Most viewed