Bangladesh win toss, ask West Indies to bat first

Published : 20 Jan 2021, 11:53

Sahos Desk

Bangladesh won the toss and sent West Indies to bat first at the Sher-e Bangladesh National Stadium on Wednesday in the first of the three-match ODI series.

The match is scheduled to start at 11:30am and T-Sports will broadcast the match live on the country's first sports channel.

The Tigers, who last played an international match on March 11, haven't waited so long to play an international fixture since they achieved Test status more than 20 years ago, and it's been a frustratingly long wait for a mad cricket country.

In contrast, after the Covid-19 breakout, including tours of England and New Zealand, the West Indies played plenty of cricket in 2020.

The two teams also begin their journey in the ICC World Cup Super League with this season, a series of competitions that will decide that the top eight teams of this competition will have a direct entry to India's 2023 World Cup.

After serving a year-long ban imposed by the ICC for failing to disclose unethical approaches made by the bookies to him, this series will be branded as Shakib Al Hasan's comeback series.

Today's Eleven

Bangladesh XI: Tamim Iqbal (capt), Liton Das, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain

West Indies XI:  Sunil Ambris, Joshua da Silva (wk), Andre McCarthy, Nkrumah Bonner, Jason Mohammed (capt), Rovman Powell, Kyle Mayers, Akeal Hosein, Raymon Reifer, Alzarri Joseph, Chemar Holder

  • Latest
  • Most viewed