BPL 2019 team preview: Rajshahi Kings

Published : 05 Jan 2019, 14:18

Sahos Desk

Bangladesh Premier League T20 2019 is knocking at the door as we bring you team previews of all the participating teams.

Rajshahi Kings

The representative from Bangladesh’s northern city, Rajshahi Kings have had up and down moments in their BPL history. This will be their fourth edition since their debut in 2015.

Rajshahi had a disappointing season in 2017. They finished sixth on the points table, managing just four wins from 12 games. Although they were the runners-up in 2016 under Darren Sammy’s captaincy.

The Kings made surprising moves ahead of the players draft. They neither retained Sammy nor Mushfiqur Rahim, one of the icons of this season. Mominul Haque, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Zakir Hasan were the four players to be retained.

Rajshahi signed rookie leg-spinner Qais Ahmed of Afghanistan and South Africa’s Christiaan Jonker before the draft took place.

Locals Soumya Sarkar and Kamrul Islam Rabbi, overseas players Ryan ten Doeschate, Sekkugge Prasanna and Mohammad Sami were notable picks from the draft. Sami played for Rajshahi in the past seasons. England’s Laurie Evans was another nonplus pick.

Dutch veteran ten Doeschate previously played in the BPL for various teams. He could be one of the key players for Rajshahi. He has played T20 cricket around the globe and scored 6416 runs in 320 matches.

Rajshahi further added local Shahriar Nafees and Pakistani Mohammad Hafeez to their squad. Hafeez will be available for only five matches.

The local players will be watched out for in order to give Rajshahi their first BPL championship title. Mominul and Mehidy did well in international cricket this year. Mustafizur could not play whole of 2017 tournament. The Kings will hope their icon player Fizz delivers for them throughout BPL 2019.

Rajshahi Kings will play their first match against Dhaka Dynamites in the evening at Mirpur on the opening day – January 5.

Rajshahi Kings squad: Mominul Haque, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Zakir Hasan, Qais Ahmed, Christiaan Jonker, Soumya Sarkar, Fazle Mahmud, Arafat Sunny, Alauddin Babu, Isuru Udana, Laurie Evans, Marshall Ayub, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Ryan ten Doeschate, Seekugge Prasanna, Mohammad Sami, Shahriar Nafees, Mohammad Hafeez

Source: bdcrictime

  • Latest
  • Most viewed