BPL teams after Player Draft

Published : 27 Dec 2021, 19:32

Sahos Desk

The Player Draft of the eighth edition of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) was held today at a local hotel in the city.

Six teams are vying for the coveted trophy this year but BCB found five franchisees which took the ownership of five divisions. Rupa Fabrics Ltd & Marn Steel Ltd (Consortium) got the ownership of Dhaka Division but they had to be left out at the eleventh hour due to failing to meet the requirements of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).

BPL governing council secretary IH Mallick said Dhaka will be run by BCB for the time being and later they will decide whether they would take sponsor or ownership for the team.

Fortune Shoes Limited had acquired the ownership of Barishal, Delta Sports Limited (Akhter Group) owned Chattogram, Comilla Legends Limited obtained Comilla, Mind Tree Ltd took Khulna and Pargoti Green Aturo Rice Mills Ltd bought the rights of Sylhet.

A total of 34 matches will be held by double round robin league followed by three playoffs and a final in three venues-Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka, Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram and Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.

The BCB had earlier announced that the Champions Team will be awarded BDT 1 crore while the runners-up will get BDT 50 lac.

For local players there were six category types with the Category A players' price fixed at BDT 70 lac. For Category B, C, D, E and F the price fixed at BDT, 35 lac, 25 lac, 18 lac, 12 lac, and 5 lac respectively.

For foreign players there were five categories with the Category A players' price fixed at US$ 75, 000. For Category B, C, D and E the price is at US$ 50,000, US$ 40,000, US$ 30,000 and US$ 20,000.

A team could recruit one local player from any category as a direct signing prior to the Player Draft.

A team was entitled to register a minimum of 10 and a maximum of 14 local players. Except for the one direct signing, all other local players were obtained from the Player Draft.

Sylhet Sunrisers
Direct signing:
Taskin Ahmed, Dinesh Chandimal (Sri Lanka), Kesrick Williams (West Indies), Colin Ingram (South Africa).

Local players from draft: Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mohammad Mithun, Al Amin Hossain, Nazmul Islam Apu, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Sohag Gazi, Alok Kapali, Muktar Ali, Siraj Ahmed, Mizanur Rahman, Nadif Chowdhury, Jubayer Hossain Likhon and Shafiul Hayat Hridoy.

Overseas players from draft: Ravi Bopara (England), Angelo Perera (Sri Lanka). Dhaka

Direct signing: Mahmudullah Riyad, Isuru Udana (Sri Lanka), Qais Ahmed (Afghanistan), Najibullah Zadran (Afghanistan).

Local players from draft: Tamim Iqbal, Rubel Hossain, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Naim Sheikh, Arafat Sunny, Imran Uz Zaman, Shafiul Islam, Zahurul Islam, Shamsur Rahman, Rishad Hossain and Ebadot Hossain.

Overseas players from Draft: Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan), Fazal Haque Farooqi (Afghanistan).

Chattogram Challengers
Direct signing:
Nasum Ahmed, Beny Howell (England), Kenner Lewis (West Indies), Will Jacques (England).

Local players from draft: Shariful Islam, Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain Patwari, Mukidul Islam Mughdo, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Sabbir Rahman, Mrittonjoy Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraj, Akbar Ali and Naeem Islam.

Overseas players from draft: Chadwick Walton (West Indies), Rayad Emrit (West Indies). Fortune Barisal

Direct signing: Shakib Al Hasan, Mujib Ur Rahman (Afghanistan), Danushka Gunathilaka (Sri Lanka) and Chris Gayle (West Indies).

Local players from draft: Nurul Hasan Sohan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Fazle Mahmud Rabbi, Towhid Hridoy, Ziaur Rahman, Shafiqul Islam, Saikat Ali, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Salman Hossain Emon and Irfan Shukkur.

Overseas players from draft: Obed McCoy (West Indies), Alzzari Joseph (West Indies), Niroshan Dickwella (Sri Lanka).

Khulna Tigers
Direct signing: Mushfiqur Rahim, Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka), Vanuka Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka), Navin ul Haq (Afghanistan).

Local players from draft: Mahedi Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Yasir Ali Chowdhury Rabbi, Farhad Reza, Rony Talukder, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Jaker Ali Anik, Nabil Samad.

Overseas players from draft: Sekkuge Prasanna (Sri Lanka), Sikandar Raja (Zimbabwe).

Comilla Victorians
Direct signing: Mustafizur Rahman, Faf du Plessis (South Africa), Moin Ali (England) and Sunil Narine (West Indies).

Local players from draft: Liton Das, Shahidul Islam, Imrul Kayes, Tanvir Islam, Ariful Haque, Nahidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Sumon Khan, Mominul Haque, Mahidul Islam Ankan, Parvez Hossain Emon, Abu Haider Rony and Mehedi Hasan.

Overseas players from draft: Kushal Mendis (Sri Lanka), Oshane Thomas (West Indies).

Source: BSS

  • Latest
  • Most viewed